Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Planing an Exhibition

I probably should have done this a long time ago but I am just beginning to figure out what I want my final presentation to be. Come to think of it, I still need a rubric. I was thinking of making my final presentation an actual fight, but that might not fall through, I need to see if there is some upcoming event that I can compete in. I wanted to participate in the Golden Gloves this year just to see how I stack up against other people but that didn't happen.

Now I'm searching for something else. I'll talk to some of my instructors this weekend and see what I can do. If I do somehow get a fight, I am probably going to have to cut some serious weight, plus I was told to start already so we'll see how that goes. If I don't get a fight, then I still have to work on a plan B.
Pretty much, I think I've left this off pretty late and now I'm going to have to play catch up for some time. I think I might just continue working on my web page and uploading videos just in case I don't get a fight.

As for the rubric...if I get a fight...judge my performance, win= 100....loose...idk F?
For the web page I was thinking on grading in accuracy of detail and aesthetics. But nothing is certain.

Thursday, February 17, 2011

More Videos

Okay well today I uploaded a nine minute video on elbowing people. I am also working on uploading a video on an arm triangle and possibly an americana. So far I have six videos up on the web, but I hope to make that number at least ten by the end of the day, I'm not sure how possible that is going to be. I will also be having a small practice class today with some of my classmates in Susan's group to see how I might make better plans for tomorrows presentation on my work this week.

I also wanted to say that if you are interested in anatomy or wonder why fighting styles work, you should check out a National Geographic series titled Fight Science. I enjoyed it and spent almost all day watching it yesterday. Maybe that is why I feel a little behind schedule for creativity week, well at least my time didn't go to waste.


PS. for those of you who might want to check out my videos, my page is https://sites.google.com/a/chinquapin.org/elberreyesmma

Wednesday, February 16, 2011

New Vids

Okay well for creativity week this year, I've been working on my senior project. So far I've been making some instructional videos. Yesterday, Tuesday February 15, I worked on punching. I've uploaded five videos to youtube and my e-portfolio. The videos are about two to three minutes long, but they focus on the bare meat and bones of punching. I also worked on elbow strikes yesterday but I haven't uploaded them. Today I'm going to finish recording knee strikes and thai kicks.
Depending on my time, I might finish off tomorrow with some submissions or I might do it today. The thing is I need someone to demonstrate the submissions on. I am going to ask some of the people in my creativity group and see what they say. I plan on demonstrating an arm bar, arm triangle, americana, and kimura. If I had the mats then I'd even demonstrate a few sweeps and take-downs.

Monday, February 7, 2011

Doubts

Well I've been working on Jiu-Jitsu for a while, but it is still something that I don't feel that training in it for a few hours on the weekend is helping me much. Along with Jiu-Jitsu, I've also been boxing with teenagers and on this I do feel as if I'm doing well in this.

For Jiu-Jisu, I need to find a rolling partner who is just as enthusiastic about Jiu-Jitsu as I am. Jiu-Jitsu takes a lot of time and that is something that most people are willing to commit, I also don't want to become a bother to any of my schoolmates. So for the moment, I'm thinking of taking a break from Jiu-Jitsu and move on up to adult boxing.

This is not to say that boxing is easier, there is a reason its called the sweet science. However, I do feel as if I can drill more and do more by myself in regards to boxing than I can with Jiu-Jitsu. I also came to realize that even though I like grappling and Jiu-Jitsu, I would rather stand up and strike. I also want to do Jiu-Jitsu with no gi, and I can't do that until this summer. The issue of no gi vs gi in Jiu-Jitsu has been in existence for some time now in Jiu-Jitsu, I personally would prefer no gi so, for the moment, I'm probably going to give up Jiu-Jitsu until the summer and focus more on my stand up.

Every thing is still up in the air though, but I'm leaning towards the adult boxing where I feel more challenged than with the teens. This is not to say that I'm the best teen out there, but that I feel better training with grown men because it makes me push myself harder. Plus it feels good to get the better of an adult.